It’s in the Planning

Posted on

I have finally realized that I was born to plan. Perhaps because I didn’t have siblings and had to entertain myself or perhaps due to some genetic predisposition, I can’t remember a time when I didn’t relish putting together a plan.  I even have a Masters in Planning. So why did it take me close to sixty years to figure this out. I derive untold pleasure in deciding to do a particular project and then setting out to pick a pattern, a yarn  and any tools that I need to get it done. If I need to learn a new technique or stitch I attack this task with relish. Unfortunately I am often over the project before I finish it. I know however that there is always  a new one in the works.

I am thinking that I should be spinning or dyeing my own yarn,  creating something beautiful, passing it on and starting something new. Could I be moving into a new area of creative pursuit? Not really sure but I intend to go with it.

2 thoughts on “It’s in the Planning

    Debra said:
    June 12, 2011 at 4:39 pm

    Don”t you just hate that? I get excited at the start of a new project, and relish the planning, but loose interest at mid-point. I have so many unfinished projects, that I am now forcing myself to finish what I start, or not start anything new. It may take me six months to finish a project, but that’s my new rule. I”ve run into some fiber artist who spin. I love the work, and you’ll need your planning skills. Looms take up a lot of room, and it seems to be addictive.

      Knitting Nedjmi said:
      June 12, 2011 at 5:11 pm

      I know and I am really afraid to look into the spinning and dyeing light because I know that I could go in that direction easily. I also think that owning a yarn store could be a great solution. I could get excited about the inventory and then sell it! I could get excited all over again when I ordered new!

Leave a Reply

