Day: July 28, 2011

Crochet Thursday — Basket Weave Stitch

Posted on

I received an email from  AllFreeCrochet recently and found a video (YouTube)on the site teaching the Basket Weave stitch. OMG!  I’m in love. This stitch is versatile, rich and thick. I must warn you though as the video states it is a yarn hog so make sure that you have enough yarn to complete your project. I didn’t heed this warning and started making a cowl with bit of a skein of Manos del Uruguay silk blend (30% Silk, 70% Merino Extrafine Wool, Kettle Dyed) in the colorway  Stellar (#3110) I bought this yarn when I started knitting/crocheting again because it was beautiful. Ah well not enough to finish but enough to show the stitch off. Visit the site when you can there are tons of things there!

Basket Weave swatch

Lucy Neatby’s Life Saving Video’s –Wednesday

Posted on Updated on

When I became a reborn knitter I found that there were lots of things I didn’t remember and more that I had never done. I started with random visits to YouTube and ran across Lucy. I then ordered her  Knitting Essentials 1 and Intarsia Untangled 1 and I was in love. I remember repeatedly saying oh wow! I could not believe how simple she made things. It is my vow to own the whole set and I  have since purchased her first sock video. So for those  of  you needing a skill boost or are unsure about a particular technique, check out Lucy Neatby and enjoy!