What Does Cast On Multiples of 3, Plus 2 Mean in a Knitting Pattern ?

Posted on

When I began knitting again I decided that I would like to attempt to create my own patterns so I looked at stitch books and chose a pattern to replicate. The pattern said something like knit  multiples of 3 plus two. What? Okay for some of you that is simple. For people like me not so much. I said does that mean I need five stitches for each repeat? No it means that you have to use multiple of three and then at the end add two stitches. Maybe that seems to follow common sense but I think differently. I  do see the logic now and the important thing is do what it says. Multiples of 2, 3, 4, etc. Just remember that the plus is only done one time whether it’s plus one, two etc.  Hope that helps.

3 thoughts on “What Does Cast On Multiples of 3, Plus 2 Mean in a Knitting Pattern ?

    Heather said:
    January 26, 2013 at 12:16 am

    A BIG Thank you! Im doing a knot stitch and I have taken it apart 4x. I keep loosing stitches. if I understand you… My pattern calls for “multiples of 2 + 1” this means at the end of my row where insicated in my pattern. I add “1” stitch? I dont add a stitch to each row, right? Thanks. HAP

      Knitting Nedjmi said:
      January 26, 2013 at 9:48 pm

      If I’m understanding your pattern your stitch count should remain the same. multiples of 2 so for instance 8 stitches plus 1

    Heather said:
    January 26, 2013 at 12:17 am

    Correx. Indicated….

Leave a Reply

